faking fall

In case you were curious, going to the DMV is terrible. This is me being unimpressed with how long I had to wait for my inspection.

dmv

On the plus side, it cost less than I anticipated (of course, it was still expensive) and now I don’t have to live in fear of getting a $500 fine for not having my car registered in Arizona. Once I can figure out how to blur all of my personal information I will post my drivers license picture. It’s not bad, although my hair is doing something weird. Stupid Phoenix DMV and their lack of a mirror…

To cheer myself up I hit up my favorite Phoenix grocery store, Sprouts. Think Trader Joes but a little more local. Since today is the first day of fall (despite the fact that it is still 100 degrees out, really) I decided to load up on some of my fall favorites- butternut squash, acorn squash, sweet potatoes, weird new squash that was on sale, spaghetti squash, and apples! I have wanted to make chili since I saw this recipe (http://delicioustv.com/2007/05/pumpkin-and-bulgur-chili/) on Meghann (Inner Workings of a College Grad)’s blog. I substituted butternut squash for the pumpkin and quinoa for the bulgur and I tossed in a few extras that I had lying around (chick peas and baby corn). SO GOOD! Almost makes me feel like I’m getting ready to jump into a pile of leaves (way less painful than jumping into a pile of cacti). Plus it made enough to freeze so I have a quick, easy, delicious meal ready to go for the rest of the week!

chili

I added a smidge of mozzarella and scooped it up with a tortilla I baked in the oven.

dins

Now it’s time for me to put my feet up and watch The Biggest Loser while eating my pumpkin ice cream. Don’t tell Jillian.

(Oh yeah, I got a great 4 mile run in and an extra 20 minutes on the elliptical and even Jillian got a little love too and I did about 15 minutes of strength training. Go me!)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

