shiny happy people

Hey there friends! So remember this morning when I filled you guys in on how nutso my life is and then you all left amazingly sweet comments about how it will all work out? Well today I found out that I get to pick which store in Cali I want to transfer to AND they are going to fly me out to check out the stores and look for an apartment! It’s amazing what 12 hours can do to your attitude…

Of course, how can a day go wrong when it starts off with coffee with Averie and her mini me?

(Stolen from our last meetup!)

We only had a quick date today because I had to rush off to work! It was so good to gab with Averie about the wild ride that is my life and everything that has happened with both of us since our last coffee date!

Work was pretty smooth today. The most exciting part was when I sold a pair of women’s VERY short cycling shorts (4 inch inseam) to a very nice Frenchman. Oh, and my lunch.

Justin, your magical maple almond butter never lets me down!

When snack time rolled around I was more than ready to dive into the tasty treat that Averie gave me earlier.

Oh my stars was this good! Of course, I would expect nothing less from the amazing raw vegan cooking queen, but this was killer. Rumor has it, the recipe will be hitting her blog this weekend!

On nights like tonight when I close, I don’t get home until 8:40ish. However, I don’t like eating dinner at work and (usually) I don’t want to just eat a sandwich. I try to prepare some things ahead of time so I can easily throw together a tasty meal and try to eat before 9! Last night I marinaded some tempeh in soy sauce, apple cider vinegar, maple syrup, garlic, and cayenne. Tonight I added it to a pan with asparagus and broccoli and dumped all of that goodness on top of a sweet potato.

This was such a tasty and easy marinade! I think the only thing I would change would be maybe using rice vinegar instead of apple cider vinegar next time.

It’s time for me to watch Shaun White kick some halfpipe booty! Catch you all on the flippy flop!

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “shiny happy people

  1. Aw, I’ll recognize that adorable cutie anywhere! And by cutie, I mean cutieS (3 of them!)
    Averie! Where is MY tasty treat? Better get your ass down to SoCal, darling!

    8:40 is not too late for dinner (at least for me). I eat around 9 pm usually. My quick fix meal is just oats and tons of nuts. Your tempeh, however, sounds awesome!

  2. Hey my sweets, glad you enjoyed the little cookie ball. Yes, will hit bloggie Sunday. If my parents or Scott doesnt eat the stash, they are all yours. Seriously, ive got goodies coming out the woodwork, I would be more than happy to supply you if they arent devoured this weekend.

    The previous post regarding your whole moving thing..I didnt know you went public with it so that must feel nice that it’s kinda like ahhhh, weight off chest. I hear ya girl. I only blab about my pending stuff in other people’s comment fields; never actually in my posts. So the sleuthy types will figure it out, the rest will have to wait til i type it out LOL
    xoox

  3. I’m so happy to hear that things are looking up! Have a great Thursday!

  4. At first, I thought you were eating maple butter topped with scrambled eggs!!! Yuck! :-)

  5. fitandfortysomething

    Move to Cali? Where? How fun!

  6. Great tempeh marinade! Thanks for the idea!

  7. Eileen

    Ha ha ha … the French are so funny! That was my favorite part of your post.

    Good luck with all the changes.

  8. I’m new at tempeh and don’t have the hang of it yet! That is a great idea for it though! I’m going to try it!

  9. that tempeh looks BOMB lady! i think even though its probs really overwhelming right now, the new job is going to be a fabulous change! do you know where in california you are going? are you sure you don’t want to manage the izumi store in madison?

    are you?

    sure?

    for sure?

  10. That vegan treat looks so good – very moist looking!! Mmmmm!! I want one :-)

  11. Averie’s cookie looks RAWsome – as always! ;-)

    It’s fantabulous that you get to have meet-ups with Averie and Skyler. Yay!

    *smiles*
    Michele

Leave a Reply

