whelmed… again

10 Things I Hate About You provides endless fodder for post titles, just in case you were curious.

Actually, I WISH I was just whelmed because I’m completely overwhelmed. In my line of work (wool and boots), fall is most definitely our busy season and everyone wants a piece of the pie. I’m supposed to be in 12 places at once, clinic 40 million people, be ready for eleventy billion grand openings, and work at least one weekend day every week. Or so it seems (except for the weekend part, my calendar is making that one pretty clear cut). But truthfully, I’m straight up busy. Lots of travel, not a lot of room to breathe. It’s pretty much an all out sprint until Thanksgiving, and then things slow WAY down and besides an occasional day working the floor or a sales meeting I can finally take a moment to relax. Good thing that is 3 months from now…

I feel bad for complaining, because lets get real, I have a sweet job (remember how I got paid to hang out with cool people and go white water rafting last week?), but I will be a traveling fool for the next few months, which doesn’t make me a happy panda. SO, I’m going to take a cue from my friend Heather, and think about some things “to enjoy.” So here is my To Enjoy list for the next few months.

  • REALLY looking forward to the two precious long weekend trips we have planned! One to Southwestern VA (where Boots is from) and one to Kansas. So stoked to go home for a couple of days!
  • knowing what I’m doing when it comes to my job. I remember this time last year when I was just starting and having NO CLUE what was going on. It’s nice to feel helpful, isn’t it?
  • Fall weather. Not that I’ve been counting down the days or anything…
  • Speaking of weather, the fact that I’ve almost been in Philly for a full year! Can you believe that?!
  • Seeing fall all over the Mid Atlantic. It’s truly my favorite time of year. I promise I’ll stop talking about it now.
  • Getting more Hilton points to take more vacations when we are in a slower swing. Sounds crazy, but it’s true.
  • Podcasts/books on tape. More time in the car = more time with all of my favorite car buddies. I’m always taking suggestions for great new podcasts to add to my list!
  • Enjoying the time I have at home with Boots and my Philly friends to the fullest. It’s easy to be a slug on the days when I’m home because it’s “go go go” on the road all the time, but I want to make sure I’m enjoying my city and my man the best I can when we are all together.

There, this fall seems less scary already…

Time to finish up some work and then sneak in an evening workout with some prime time television! Night friends!

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “whelmed… again

  1. I really love how you can find the positives regardless of how stressful things might be. It’s not that life is perfect, it’s what you make of the situation.

  2. You travel soo much I don’t even know where you really live! Good way to prevent stalkers like Evan. Oh wait, he does know where you live!

  3. God I love 10 Things I Hate About You quotes. It’s going to be an exhausting few months so good thing you have some fun trips planned and are looking forward to some things :)

  4. So sad…I knew the movie as soon as I saw the word ‘whelmed’ and started reciting the quote to myself in my head…”I think you can in France!”
    Love the brain cells at work : )

  5. Sorry it’s getting crazy up in your neck of the woods… :(

    But I do have to say, good choice on the movie reference. That is and always will be one of my favorite teeny-bopper movies. Seriously.

  6. I love your Enjoy List.
    I need to have one of those in my saved email drafts or something like that so I can reference it…as needed. Some days that’s frequently :)

  7. I love 10 Things I Hate About You, great movie. :) We love using Scott’s points for vacations. We stayed in South Beach for a long weekend for free once, so much fun. I’m dying to break out my socks for snowboarding. I may also look into getting a compression pair for post-running goodness. ;)

  8. I’m so with you on the fall weather, we’ve barely had a summer here in the UK and I just can’t wait for it to be September and ‘officially’ autumn so I can dig out the boots and jumpers and start eating butternut squash like its my job ;-)

  9. WOW! That is quite a list. You are such a postivie person! Love it!

  10. When I read your title, the first thing I thought of was “10 Things I Hate About You.” I love that movie, and it makes me miss Heath Ledger :-(

  11. Kalli and Bill

    i hear you girl! football season, parent nights, all kind of crazy during the fall…take a moment thank your blessings and look forward to the fun stuff. it gets me through until i win the lotto ;)

  12. You are alive. True or false? I assume Irene has spared your life but you never know.

Leave a Reply

