rings and things

Oh hey there strangers! I just haven’t really been feeling the blog mojo recently, so I haven’t been forcing it. I’ve thought about just shutting down the old girl, but I’m not quite ready to do that. I want to keep documenting what is going on in my life even if I’m the only one who reads it.

A lot has gone down over here in the wedding world, so let’s catch you up.

1. We booked a venue! Colin and I thought about different places all over the US. We thought about getting married at a brewery in Wisconsin. We thought about getting married at the boarding school Colin attended with a reception on the beach. We talked about just going to a courthouse. So what did we end up with? A ranch outside of my hometown in Kansas.

(source)

The ranch has bison, horses, and we get to stay out there the whole weekend. AND we set a date! July 7th! Since it is the weekend after the 4th of July we even get to have fireworks. I couldn’t be more excited.

I also found THE dress. My mom and Colin’s mom came up to help me look last weekend. We ventured into New York City, went to one place and I ended up loving the 2nd dress I tried on (I tried on many more after that but we kept going back to that one). I won’t post any pictures in case Colin stumbles on this post, but I’ll give you some hints- it’s short, it has a green ribbon, and it’s everything I could have hoped for! We went to RK Bridal and had the BEST experience ever. If you need a dress and are in driving distance to NYC, I’d highly recommend going in and asking for Jo (just don’t go on a weekend because it was a mad house, we went on a rainy Friday and we were pretty much the only people there). Jo and I just clicked and she understood exactly what I was looking for.

Oh, and I finally got my ring!

Colin and I picked it out and we got engaged without the ring because it was going to take almost a month for them to remake it for me with the sapphire we chose. It is SO worth the wait. It’s gorgeous and now that I have it on my finger I can’t take my eyes off it.

So now we have a date, a venue, my dress (and shoes and headpiece!), and our best fellas (my brother is going to be my man of honor). Not a bad start, right?

Make it a great week everyone!

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “rings and things

  1. How lovely! Congrats on getting so much done!

  2. I love that ring – very classy. July 7th will be here before you know it!

  3. CONGRATS!

    A venue, the dress, the ring, and a date. Well, certainly there hasn’t been a dull moment in your world and I’m thrilled for you guys!

  4. oh i love the ranch house idea!!! i’m driving up for this. hehe. jk, well maybe. ;)

  5. Love the ring! I can’t wait to see the dress!!! I am so happy for you two and I really couldn’t imagine a better place and time for you two to celebrate your life together!

  6. Funny– I did the exact same thing! Tried on THE dress as my second dress, then tried on a bunch more…and kept going back to that second one. When you know, you just know :-) Sounds like everything is going great!

  7. Wow, you definitely have done a lot! I love your ring, it is gorgeous and I think the ranch is going to be perfect for you guys. Yay :)

  8. Lovely ring! You have been busy girl! Very exciting :-) Enjoy a wonderful weekend!!!!!!!!

  9. Don’t get rid of your blog! I’ve loved following along over the years & think it’s fantastic how your life has transformed (due to your patience, vision & hard work). Love the ring, it’s beautiful! And how cool that your brother will be in your wedding. :) Can’t wait to find out more details about your wedding & such. Best wishes!

  10. Yayyyy dates and venues and details! The ranch sounds amazingggg! Are you going to wear Boots?! ;) You’ve given me hope that you can find an awesome venue in less than the typical 1.5 years that apparently every single place is booked through (not that I’ve researched….) So happy for you guys!

    I agree – don’t get rid of the old blog, just update whenever/if ever you feel like it. You do you!

  11. love this all. sooooooo excited for the wedding!!!

  12. Very pretty ring, congrats on picking a venue!

  13. Woo Hoo!!! What kind of wedding band are you going to get to go with it? I can’t wait to hear more wedding details!! :)

  14. Allie

    Congrats! You are moving along so quick! I also went to RK, but went on a weekend. It was hectic, and I felt like I was being rushed. I guess the trick is go on a weekday, because they do have a great selection!

Leave a Reply

